Vermont Tenant Rights
Vermont tenant rights differ according to whether the renter is renting an apartment or home, or whether they are renting a mobile home. This article only discusses tenant rights in Vermont as they apply to apartments and rental homes.
Vermont landlord tenant law allows for both written and oral leases. However, to safeguard their Vermont renters rights, tenants are urged to get written leases whenever possible and to obtain photocopies of the lease.
Vermont tenant rights allows landlords to set some of their responsibilities and rules on the lease, but they cannot use the lease to give away their responsibilities to the tenant. This is illegal and a violation of Vermont landlord tenant law.
Tenant rights in Vermont allow the landlord to ask detailed questions about the tenant and their background on the application. Vermont renters rights do not allow them to ask for an application fee, because these fees are illegal under Vermont landlord tenant law and are a violation of Vermont tenant rights.
Vermont renters rights do not limit the amount of the security deposit. The exceptions under tenant rights in Vermont are the cities of Barre and Burlington. These cities have limitations to security deposits in addition to Vermont landlord tenant law. Tenant rights in Vermont also do not stipulate that the landlord must keep the deposit separate from their other funds, nor do Vermont renters rights require that the landlord pay interest on the deposit.
Tenants with Disabilities
Vermont tenant rights allow tenants with disabilities to make reasonable changes to the apartment to accommodate their disability. However, Vermont landlord tenant law requires that they make these changes at their own expense. In addition, Vermont renters rights prohibit landlords from requiring an additional security deposit because of these modifications.
Vermont tenant rights set restrictions on when landlords can enter a property. According to Vermont renters rights, landlords can only enter the property without notice in an emergency situation. Tenant rights in Vermont require that the landlord gives the tenant a 48 hour notice before entering the property.
Vermont renters rights require that a landlord give a tenant 60 days notice before they have a rent increase. With the exception of the city of Burlington and subsidized housing, Vermont tenant rights do not restrict the amount of rent increases.
Vermont tenant rights do not prohibit the landlord from charging reasonable late fees. However, according to tenant rights in Vermont, these fees must reflect the actual expenses the landlord would incur as a result of the late rent.
Vermont landlord tenant law does not require that landlords provide appliances. However, if the appliances are provided, tenant rights in Vermont require that the appliances are kept in good working order by the landlord, according to Vermont landlord tenant law.