Utah Tenant Rights
Utah tenant rights are based on a mutual relationship of respect between the landlord and the tenant. Both parties must follow the law to maintain a beneficial relationship.
Utah tenants rights urge the tenant to conduct a walk through of the apartment before they move in. The tenant should get the landlord to sign the list of damages. This list allows the tenant to protect themselves against being charged for damages that they did not create.
Although Utah tenants rights do allow the landlord and tenant to make an oral agreement, they are urged to sign a lease. A lease spells out all of the terms and conditions of the rental agreement and protects both parties in the case of a dispute.
Tenant rights in Utah does not place a limit on the amount of security deposit the landlord is allowed to charge. Similarly, tenants rights in Utah do not stipulate that the landlord must place the deposit in a separate account for the tenant, nor are they required to pay interest on the deposit. However, Utah tenants rights do require that the landlord pays the deposit back within 30 days of the tenant moving out, provided that the tenant has issued a forwarding address to the landlord. If the landlord keeps any part of the deposit, they must issue a written notice that explains the deductions.
Under tenant rights in Utah, tenants have the responsibility to pay their rent in full and on time. Tenant are urged to obtain a receipt for the rent they have paid. Utah tenants rights lists several ways the tenant can obtain this receipt. For example, giving the landlord a check provides an automatic receipt. Alternatively, tenant rights in Utah state that the landlord can issue a hand-written receipt for cash. Obtaining this receipt allows the tenant to have proof that they paid rent in the case of a dispute.
If you do not pay rent on time, Utah tenants rights allows the landlord to place a lien on your property. Tenant rights in Utah are very specific about the process the landlord must follow to place the lien, as well as which property they can place the lien on. For example, most items of furniture are exempt under Utah tenants rights.
Utah tenants rights give the landlords a lot of power when it comes to eviction. Under certain circumstances, the entire eviction process can take as little as one week, including the court procedures. For non-payment of rent, the landlord can issue a 3-day notice of eviction. Under tenant rights in Utah, if the tenant does not pay the rent within 3 days, the landlord can apply for permission to legally evict the tenant in court if the tenant does not pay within the three day time frame.
Other circumstances that warrant a three-day eviction notice under tenant rights in Utah include being a nuisance or conducting illegal activities. A five-day eviction notice can be issued for those without a lease, with or without cause.